A Night of Cultural Success


The applications have been submitted and reviewed; now the time has come for the 2015 NAACP Image Awards. All award winners will be named at the ceremony on April 9th at 7 pm. For this year’s awards, students will be able to have a say in who will win the biggest award of the evening: Outstanding Campus Leader.

Below is a list of the nominees, their bios and a poll in which students can vote on who they believe should win. Student vote will count for 50% of the selection process and the other half will come from a panel of campus leaders who will choose based off of the nominees applications.


Shallum Atkinson 

-2nd year, Political Science & Public Affairs Journalism Major

-Public Relations Director, Black Male Leadership Society

-Chief Justice of the Student Government Association

-Keynote Speaker for Stories of Everyday Black History

-Ignite Social Justice Retreat Participant


Mica David 

-4th year, Psychology Major & Public Health Minor

-Student Alumni Council Vice President

-G-Book Editor

-President of Georgia Daze

-University of Georgia Medical Reserve Corps Member


Kiondre Dunnam 

-3rd Year, Middle School Education Major

-Russell Hall Resident Assistant

-Russell Hall Social Justice Committee

-President of the Black Affairs Council

-Member of the Arch Society


Ryan Kelley 

-3rd Year, International Affairs and Korean Language and Literature Major

-National Association of Black Journalists executive board member

-Active participant in the African Studies Institute

-Peace Corps campus ambassador

-Model African Union participant


Jeremiah Lemons 

-4th year, Sports management major

-President of Zeta Pi Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

-Black Affairs Council Executive Board Member


Kennington Smith 

-2nd Year, Mass Media Arts & Sports Management Major

-Executive Producer of UGA ELITE

-Member of the Student Alumni Council

-UGA Football Recruiting Operations & Special Events, Social Media Director

-GradySports Bureau

The poll is now open for voting. Voting will end this Friday, April 3rd at 11:59 pm. The event will take place on April 9th at 7 pm in banquet room 285 of Russell Special Collections library.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Darrick Bonaparte says:

    Great achievements


  2. Tony Twine says:

    An absolutely incredible kid. A great leader with characterr.


Leave a Reply to Darrick Bonaparte Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s